The walking dead

81715289_0d2ade0d2f

Every day I pass scenes like these. I used to smile foolishly at the sight, thinking an image like this was beautiful and that it was the essence of what country life represented.

Now I can scarcely bear to look at these gentle, innocent beings because I now realise that this bucolic scene masks a sinister reality. Each of these nonhuman individuals has been brought into this world as a commodity; they are viewed as resources to indulge a species that is hell bent on destruction; the destruction annually of uncounted billions of other sentient beings and the destruction of the planet we all share.

Their terrifying deaths are already planned, the time scales already scheduled when their mothers were forcibly impregnated. These are, in fact, the walking dead.

Their sweet beauty will end very soon in the gore and stench of a slaughterhouse, their screams and whimpers unheard behind closed doors, so that their predators will not be inconvenienced by the uncomfortable reality of their suffering. Their lives, that they value every bit as much as I value my own, torn from them on behalf of those of us who refuse to confront why we allow our taste buds to dictate our morals.

We can live and live well without causing harm. We have choices. The only way to reject this bloodbath is to be vegan – why wait another moment?

Get information here http://vegankit.com/

This entry was posted in Advocacy, Sentience and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The walking dead

  1. Pingback: The walking dead | Our Compass

  2. lovegan says:

    One of the reasons why I love this blog is because I read my same thoughts in another language (I’m Italian). I can’t enjoy anymore similar scenes- quite rare nowadays, cows are imprisoned here- because my mind jumps to another, horrible image. What is wrong with our species? We could live in a fantastic world if people had a beating heart. Thank you, I share and I hope people understand

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cushpigsmum says:

    My thoughts exactly.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. cushpigsmum says:

    Reblogged this on iliketowritewhatithink and commented:
    Every time I look in my mother’s fridge and see a bottle of milk I see the slave animals from whom it was stolen and who grieve for their lost newborns, the dead calves that paid the price for the availability of dairy and the young heifers who will never suckle from their own mothers. And tears come to my eyes. Why do we do this? Plant milks are delicious and so easy to use instead. We have non dairy spread, soya or coconut yogurts, vegan cheeses, vegan ice cream, soya custard, non dairy chocolate. We go without nothing that is of any importance and gain so much spiritually, to take these simple, kind actions. Eggs, meat, dairy and fish – they are all unnecessary exploitation and abuse of others.

    Liked by 1 person

    • LinBro says:

      Can you please tell me where I can buy non-dairy chocolate, vegan ice cream, and soya custard? I have searched Trader Joes and Ralphs and found vegan cheese and soy milk, but not the other items.

      Like

      • captainsakonna says:

        I find a lot of vegan things at Vitamin Cottage Natural Grocers. Try them if you have them in your area.
        The chocolate should be easy, though. Many dark chocolate bars/chips are dairy-free even if not specifically produced for vegans. Check the labels of different brands until you find a good one.

        Like

  5. An impassioned plea that is very urgent! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

