Ring out the old ways, usher in the new!

Woody and Brady at Willowite

Image by Pete Crosbie: Woody and Brady at Willowite Animal Sanctuary

The words ‘Happy New Year’ ring rather hollow while today and every day in laboratories, in farms large and small and in slaughterhouses across the planet there are billions of nonhumans, suffering and afraid. Knowing that their pain and despair is completely unnecessary and therefore totally unjustifiable, it is impossible to know happiness in the face of the swamping tide of their anguish.

So, I would like to speak to all friends and followers, to all who work tirelessly to promote a vegan world, who miss no opportunity to share the vegan message that nonhuman animals deserve recognition of their most basic rights as sentient beings; the right not to be treated as property, the right not to be enslaved, used or harmed, the right to be respected for the individuals that they are.

As we all begin another new year of spreading awareness of the desperate plight of humanity’s victims, knowing only too well the tears you will shed and the nights when sleep will evade you, I wish you all the strength to do what you have to do and keep on doing it.
I wish you the comfort that comes from knowing that you are not alone although it often feels that way.
I wish you the courage to face ridicule and negativity, knowing that when you meet resistance it means your message is getting through.

The online vegan community is ever growing. The more voices there are, the further the sound will travel and that must give us hope. And hope is what we need: hope for an end to human persecution of the helpless, the innocent and the vulnerable; hope that justice will be done.

And so as we move into 2015, from the bottom of my heart I wish you all a very Hopeful New Year!

This entry was posted in Advocacy, Festivals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ring out the old ways, usher in the new!

  1. cushpigsmum says:

    Thank you. I wish the same for you, and I also find your writings inspiring and am always pleased to share them on. I have my own blog site, but don’t write on it very often. I tend to have times when I do and times of rest, where I just reblog other people’s writings. All power and strength to all vegans in 2015.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mur says:

    Thank you for all the inspiring words from the past year. I have been following all
    your posts….well formed thoughts and opinions. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. vegboone says:

    Yes, we need to keep finding strength in each other. Reading this blog does give me hope and will to deal with all the ridicule and apathy I face because of activism.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Katerina Raja-Peppas says:

    And a very Hopeful New Year to you! With my deepest and heartfelt appreciation and thanks for your wonderful wrirings that have enriched and encouraged my own vegan life and advocacy immesurably ❤

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

