Cognitive Dissonance

Sharing this excellent article about cognitive dissonance, the feeling of discomfort that arises from holding two conflicting beliefs.

planetaryvegan

tumblr_lpivn0WlYU1r12q7fo1_400
Cognitive dissonance is the feeling of discomfort that arises from holding two conflicting beliefs.

As described in one of my earlier posts, I had always considered myself an animal lover, and thought I was largely kind to animals, yet I continued to eat them when I had no need to. This conflicting worldview manifested itself in bizarre behaviours such as moving snails from the path so they wouldn’t be trodden on en route to KFC, or throwing distasteful looks at people wearing fur whilst wearing a leather jacket.

Finally, I became a vegan, and abstained from eating, using or wearing animal products as much as one can when their presence has become so ubiquitous.

When speaking to non-vegans about why we shouldn’t eat animals, I often face quite a hostile reaction. Some people are clearly very offended, and I can understand why; no one wants to be told they are…

View original post 1,233 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cognitive Dissonance

  1. GarryRogers says:

    A common problem that is usually susceptible to education.

    Like

Leave a Reply

